Nursing Career Advice

Career and education discussion for nurses and nursing students. LPN/LVN, BSN, RN, MSN, Doctor of Nursing.

Moderator: CaribMD

Nursing Career Advice

Postby MPinAZ » Sun Oct 14, 2012 8:56 pm

I'm at the final mile marker before I'm past the point of no return, and I need some advice!

I'm almost 30 and I have a psych degree from about 8 yrs ago. Over the past yr I've completed all the required pre-reqs for a couple of the nursing programs here in phoenix (with a 4.0 gpa). Some of the courses I took 8 yrs ago I had to retake because they became out of date. I took the pre-reqs full time and lived on student loans and piled up about 25K of debt.

This past summer I've been working in a blood lab making about 45K/yr while I wait for the next app deadline for nursing school enrollment. Now the next deadline is coming up, but so are the first payments of my previous $25k of student loans.

My fiance makes about $45K and he's younger than me, he just started his career in finance and he bought us a house. If I drop my job and go to school for 2 yrs, his income is gonna be stretched really thin with the payments we need to make on my student loans (about $220/mo) added to our normal bills. I would also have to apply for more student loans to cover us through the 2 yr program. Also we're trying to pay for a chunk of our wedding and I was hoping to have kids with him before we get too old.

If I stick with the current lab job I have, then we're making dual income and we can work on paying down the debt load ASAP, and we could be serious about kids soon. But I feel like if I go to nursing school, I'm giving up on the chance to make good money and I'll have zero time for my life. I always wanted to have a high income so that we could take our future kids on vacations and not worry about bills. I thought if I could work the 3x12 nursing shift, it would be a big boost in the right direction.

is it worth the sacrifice and extra debt?
MPinAZ