Medical School in India for a US student

Resources and answers for IMGs applying to the ECFMG for US medical and surgical residencies.

Moderator: CaribMD

Medical School in India for a US student

Postby Medicine40 » Sat Aug 25, 2007 9:04 pm

Hi,
I am in my first year of undergraduate at a US university and I am seriously thinking about transfering to an Indian medical school. My parents and I came to the US from India three years ago and we have been going thru an extreme process of getting our greencard. For this reason I am not able to afford a college education and would like to attend medical school in INDIA whatsoever. Now my question is:

I am have taken Biology, Chemistry, physics, Physiology and Math in high school and I am currenty( in college) takin Chemistry 1 lecture and Lab with other classes that are requried for general education( middle eastern studies, economic, and Hindi) My question is would I be able to tranfer to an Indian Medical school after completing my first semster/year in college or it would be EXTREMLY difficult?

1) Which are some schools that accept NRI from US and what are thier requirements?

2) How would I contact those schools as not every schhols has a website?

3) Would that school ask me for donation? if yes how much?

4) Would I be able to come back in the US after getting my MBBS and be able to pass the USMLE exams?

I am seriously thinking about this option and it would be very helpful if someone( especially ASHISH can answer those questions as he himself is a medical student in India).
Thnaks a lot for any input.[/b]
Medicine40
Gunner
Gunner

Postby ashish_padnani » Sun Aug 26, 2007 12:55 am

hii
Now, whether or not u are eligible for this, you ll have to confirm this with the mci... Call mci and ask them...
www.mciindia.org

also... here is the list of recognized medical colleges in India
http://www.mciindia.org/apps/search/show_colleges.asp

here they have the websites for many colleges..