EMT Basic Certificate

EMT, Radiology Tech, ECG Tech - career options and education discussion.

Moderator: CaribMD

EMT Basic Certificate

Postby vanasme » Tue Apr 17, 2007 12:35 am

I'm currently a college freshman finishing up my first year and I'm looking at my summer options. I'm thinking about enrolling in the EMT Basic Certificate program at a college near home and I was just wondering how much this would actually help my med-school application. I obviously know that I need a strong GPA and MCAT score, but is going through the EMT Basic Certificate program going to help much? My pre-med advisor recommended that I do it and I trust his judgement. The only reason that I have a minor objection is because I just landed a 40 hours a week summer job and I would have to give this up and try to find some other type of summer employment if I do the EMT Basic program. My pre-med advisor told me that the certificate would help me land some better volunteer positions that would look better on med school applications, instead of just pushing papers somewhere in a hospital. So I guess my question is: is it worth giving up my great summer job to get my EMT Basic certificate? I'm pretty sure I could find some other type of part time employment, but I could use the cash from a full-time job.
vanasme

Postby blooteeth » Tue Apr 17, 2007 12:44 am

The certificate alone is worthless. You have to put it to good use either by working as an EMT or maybe a ED tech at a hospital.
blooteeth
Fellow
Fellow

Postby OlufunshoBY » Tue Apr 17, 2007 6:28 am

Personally, EMT doesn't improve your chance of getting into med school. The EMT certificate will be something personal to you. In other words, you should only be doing it because you want to do it and want to get an exposure to a bit of medicine.