Chances of getting into Osteopathic Medical Schools

Issues specific to osteopathic medical education and practice as a DO.

Moderator: OlufunshoBY

Chances of getting into Osteopathic Medical Schools

Postby Adminnaoum » Sat Sep 09, 2006 9:11 am

To get an idea of what your chances might be of getting into DO med schools we've put together the
College of Medicine Search Tool - for Osteopathic Medical Schools

This is a free tool that ranks your chances according to MCAT scores and cumulative GPA.

Best of Luck,

drn
Adminnaoum
Site Admin
Site Admin

Re: Chances of getting into Osteopathic Medical Schools

Postby maratharibe » Tue Feb 08, 2011 5:58 am

I am a graduating osteopathic physician. Tomorrow is my last day! Yeah! It hasn't been that hard, really - especially in the fourth year. I've basically been on cruise control since September. He He. I'm on Allergy right now and I'm loving it! The hours are hard to beat. So, anyways, I figured you guys were missing me so I thought I was write a piece on getting into a DO school. Of course, good grades and MCATs are pre-reqs for getting an interview. Once you get an interview, your chances for admission go from 1-in-10 to 1-in-3, roughly. So, getting the interview is the hardest part. And, let's extrapolate from my ratios and say comfortably that if you get 3-4 interviews (especially at DO schools), your chances of getting into one of them is pretty good. I'd say the intangibles to getting into medical school rest in your interview and your experiences
maratharibe

Postby water » Wed Apr 27, 2011 6:12 pm

Hi,
I was wondering what is the difference between a DO and MD? I know DO takes a more hollistic approach to medicine and in school they learn the same material as MD and more, however, why is MD the more popular choice?
water

Postby masalamonkeyca » Sat Aug 06, 2011 8:47 pm