DC to DO...

Issues specific to osteopathic medical education and practice as a DO.

Moderator: OlufunshoBY

DC to DO...

Postby ChiroGeek » Mon Jun 26, 2006 11:42 pm

Hi all,

Well, I guess I'm having that 40 something crises, for at 46 and after 20 years of being a chiropractor - a very medically geared chiro I might add - I've had it.

I want to become more of a "real doctor" as my father and grandfather were and go for at least a DO degree.

I graduated Cum Laude from Life Chiropractic University in GA and did my undergraduate in Michigan at Ferris University - almost got a BS in applied Bio.

So, how in the world to I start this journey? Do I need to start completely over or is there some way I can get directly into a DO school without starting completely over.

I've got an MD friend who converted from DC to DO and went to one of those Caribbean schools; however, my home state - California - no longer accepts doctors from these schools; so I guess that's out.

The other "challenge" for me will be this: I had a failed discectomy in 2003 and have limitations to heavy lifting and bending.

Any advise or words of wisdom would be greatly appreciated.

Sincerely,

Douglas M. Gillard, DC
ChiroGeek

Postby future doc » Tue Jun 27, 2006 10:19 am

Doctor,

I would start by calling around to the D.O. schools and explaining your situation. You will probably have to take the MCAT but as far as pre-reqs you might find a school that is willing to accept you without them due to your situation. My uncle was a practicing dentist until he decided he wanted to be an M.D. One med school allowed him to skip the first year and start as a second year because of his previous training. So just call around, and see what the deal is and go from there. Good luck and bravo for pursuing what you want.