Which are the good ones?

Issues specific to osteopathic medical education and practice as a DO.

Moderator: OlufunshoBY

Which are the good ones?

Postby future doc » Sat Jun 24, 2006 4:34 pm

Hey all,

I was wondering which D.O. schools have the good reps? Michigan State and W.V. were listed in U.S. News as being among the top med schools in the country for primary care. I also know Philadelphia is pretty good.

What about Univ. of New England?
Lake Erie?
Edward Via Vriginia etc. etc.

Thanx
future doc
New Member
New Member
 
Posts: 14
Joined: Tue Jun 06, 2006 2:07 pm

Postby mdille2 » Sun Jun 25, 2006 8:18 am

CCOM is a good school. Are you looking in a specific area?

Marcia
User avatar
mdille2
Premed Moderator
Premed Moderator
 
Posts: 839
Joined: Fri May 27, 2005 2:30 pm
Location: Illinois

Postby DeepRoller » Mon Jun 26, 2006 9:03 am

For the closest thing to the original osteopathic philosophy, look to A.T. University-Kirksville College of Osteopathic Medicine. It's also the top rated for rural training.

Michael
DeepRoller
Gunner
Gunner
 
Posts: 119
Joined: Sun Jun 18, 2006 9:39 am
Location: University of Arkansas at Monticello

Postby david » Wed Jun 28, 2006 6:30 am

When I was in school in Philadelphia PCOM was considered as difficult to get into as the other med schools, Jefferson,Hahneman,Penn,Temple,
and MCOP. Very strong reputation
david
New Member
New Member
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Tue Jun 13, 2006 6:37 pm

PCOM

Postby Arboth » Sun Jul 30, 2006 6:20 pm

I second that, PCOM has a very, very sound reputation. The residents out of PCOM get into very competitive residencies, for both DO and MD programs. Are all DO schools ridiculously expensive? I know WVU and PCOM are $70k+!!!!
Arboth
Sub-I
Sub-I
 
Posts: 263
Joined: Sat Mar 25, 2006 10:57 pm

Return to Osteopathic Medicine (DO)