When To Start Studying?

MCAT preparation and implications of MCAT scores.

Moderators: cheechootrain, CaribMD, AL_emt

When To Start Studying?

Postby rsarti » Sun Mar 15, 2015 8:47 pm

I'm an undergrad Junior. I have this tutor who is taking the MCAT for the second time (The first, he got 33. He has a 4.0 GPA) and offered a course which is 5 times/week, 2-hr/day during 3 months, for $500 total. He's going to take the MCAT on August so in the mean time, he keeps tutoring for other classes at this center, and doing research and came up with this idea. Now, he knows I'm still missing orgo, and bio chem to be able to take the exam, but this summer, he's only going to focus on all of the other subjects (of course until I graduate next year, I'd taken the chems I'm missing and reviewing everything else, in order to prepare for the exam)

Now, my sister already took the test once (she got a 29 and is planning to take it again) but like I guess most, she started focusing most of her attention after graduating from college and then took the test 4-5 month after and she says that this is the [smart] way to do it because, Ok, I take this course now, but a year from now, I would've forgotten most of the stuff I reviewed now and it would be a waste of money and time. But I argue that I'm not going to forget because I'll be reviewing everything AND adding more info as I go and learn what I'm missing (I think It's too stressing just doing it all few month prior the exam, because it's not only the exam I need to worry, it's also research/work, personal statement, volunteering, etc that come into the equation as well) but I guess she has a valid point, too.

So, do you think it's a good move to take this course and start studying/practicing now, a year before the actual exam, or should I start 5-4 months prior it like I've read/heard most of the people do?
rsarti

Re: When To Start Studying?

Postby elitea » Thu May 28, 2015 8:06 am