Non-Trad I WANT TO BE A DOCTOR

For applicants who have been out of school for a few years, or are planning to have a family in medical school, or have other non-traditional qualities.

Moderators: CaribMD, AL_emt

Non-Trad I WANT TO BE A DOCTOR

Postby jjcurtis » Thu Nov 13, 2014 1:51 pm

Hi everyone, I'm not new to the sight but I am new to posting.
I am 23 a wife and mother of two.. Honestly, I've never declared exactly what I've wanted to do with my life, never truly committing, but always keeping a watchful eye on forums such as this, keeping track of the results of match day and the percentage of my particular minority accepted into medical school each year! Originally upon graduating high school five years ago I was a student at Georgia Southern University, major undeclared, rapidly became married, lived, worked and now have two beautiful boys. My husband and I saved to allow me to return to school and finish what I failed to complete 5+ years ago. So here I am, a 23 year old freshman (freshman because I decided to start fresh and didn't apply as transfer) at a new university majoring in micro bio. LOVING every moment of it and realizing that my true destiny has been with me my entire life. Medicine is my calling. Patients, stress, competitiveness, debt, tears, joy, FULFILMENT. I mean what else is there? I'm writing this as my first out loud proclaim. I have a long ways to go before MCATs, Apps, and interviews, but I will be sure to update my story as often as I can. Are there any other "wanna be" MDs with similar stories?