Number of schools to apply to?

Issues specific to osteopathic medical education and practice as a DO.

Moderator: OlufunshoBY

Number of schools to apply to?

Postby trublue943 » Tue Aug 23, 2011 11:22 pm

I am a nontraditional student. I graduated from Loyola School of Nursing in 07, I have been working full time as a nurse in a hospital setting since then. Within 2 years of working, I decided I wanted to become a doctor and completed the science prereqs at a community college. I took the MCAT twice, the first was 23P (7P, 8V, 8B) and second was 24O (8, 8, 8). My cumulative GPA is 3.67 but science GPA is 3.9. I have letters of recs from a DO, my nurse manager and 2 science faculty from the community college.

My MCAT score is very low but I applied anyhow, because retaking the exam a 3rd time is dumb. I applied to handful of MD schools, but I wanted to know how are my chances of getting into DO programs? Should I apply to more than 9 DO schools?
trublue943

Re: Number of schools to apply to?

Postby bapassey » Wed Oct 12, 2011 10:32 am

I have seen many people with lower scores get in. What you really need is to show the schools that you have a real desire to become an OSTEOPATHIC PHYSICIAN, not just a doctor.

You have letters of recommendations from DOs, so now when you write your personal statement explain to these schools why you want to become a DO. Did any of them use OMT? Did they do any manual manipulation? Explain what you saw different in their treatment of patients and why that has inspired you to be a DO.

This was the approach I took when applying. I had a higher MCAT, but a lower GPA than you. I initially applied to 12 DO schools and no MD schools (I only wanted to be a DO and schools really liked that). I filled out 8 secondary applications, got 4 interviews and made it into all 4 schools.

What I am really trying to say is that you show them that you want to be a DO, not just a doctor, and your chances go way up.