Failed chemistry, what now??

Preparing and applying for medical school.

Sponsored by the Premed Status Report. Analyzes over 20 variables to estimate your chances of getting into medical school.

Moderators: cheechootrain, Vonsmack, AL_emt

Failed chemistry, what now??

Postby uwhusky » Fri Mar 18, 2011 5:10 pm

I am a freshman at the University of Washington, Seattle and am pursuing the pre-med route. I am a biochem major, and going on to my spring quarter I failed chemistry 142 twice. I still want to do pre-med but I dont know what to do from here. Should I go to a community college and do my science courses there? Should I take a break and continue my science courses so I can come back with a better transition? Or should I go on to major in Economics (my back up major) and come back for science courses later? Im so confused and dont know what to do right now..I received a 1.3 first quarter.
uwhusky

Re: Failed chemistry, what now??

Postby mikemd/phd » Fri Mar 18, 2011 10:58 pm

This decision is obviously up to you; therefor, guidance is really the best we can give to your question. Nobody is going to make that choice for you, except for yourself. That being said....

Genetics, molecular biology, physiology, and biochemistry are all courses that seriously require knowledge of chemistry to do well in, or even satisfactory, for that matter. There are also many more courses that require chemistry than those I listed.

The physical and biological science portions of the MCAT require quite a bit of knowledge in chemistry, but thats not to say that scoring well on the verbal section might improve your score, if you know what I mean :) .

The bottom line is, you are going to need to know chemistry throughout your pre-med career in order to well in your biochem course work, as well as the MCAT. Without a good knowledge base of chemical reactions and their mechanisms, you will epically fail at a biological science major!