How Do You Get into D.O. school?

Issues specific to osteopathic medical education and practice as a DO.

Moderator: OlufunshoBY

How Do You Get into D.O. school?

Postby newkid » Mon Jun 07, 2010 12:40 pm

I am a freshman in college and even thought it is four years away from now, I am setting my goal on going to D.O. school. Question, do I have to be premed to go to D.O. school? I can fulfill the requirements and stuff without being premed. ???
newkid

Re: How Do You Get into D.O. school?

Postby AL_emt » Mon Jun 07, 2010 1:44 pm

Premed is just a label. Planning to become a doctor = premed. Some schools have actual "pre-health" designators and programs, but I would recommend simply picking a major you are interested in (and that you can maintain a good GPA in) and knocking it out. Sustained superior performance is the key to success, and preparing this far in advance will definitely work to your advantage later on. I would recommend shadowing some docs in order to get a feel for health care (i.e. is this really what you want to do, etc). Focus on a strong freshman year, building a good foundation and GPA (don't take too many courses!). Don't worry about the MCAT your freshman year; just concentrate on doing well in your courses. You might consider getting involved with your school's pre-health organization (e.g. AED, etc) in order to build some contacts. Good luck to you, and welcome to StudentDoc! :D
AL_emt
Premed Moderator
Premed Moderator

Postby newkid » Mon Jun 07, 2010 5:45 pm