Chiropractic Student with Second Thoughts...HELP!!

Issues specific to osteopathic medical education and practice as a DO.

Moderator: OlufunshoBY

Chiropractic Student with Second Thoughts...HELP!!

Postby kpeterson1986 » Sat Dec 12, 2009 3:25 pm

Ok, so here's the deal. Right now, I am a student at a chiropractic school and just finished my first term and about to start my second. I am starting to have second thoughts about the career path I am on. During undergrad, I was a little immature in the fact that I didn't want to be in school so long (4 years school + residency) so I decided to go the chiropractic route because it only takes about 3 1/2 years with no residency needed. Now that I am in chiro school, I'm starting to realize that my reasoning for not going into medicine was not a good one. I also figured that my GPA was too low, at a 3.35, to be accepted to any sort of medical school so I didn't bother trying.

I am basically just asking for advice on what you guys think I should do. I am considering quitting chiro school so that I can go to medical school, but I don't want to end up quitting chiro, not getting into med, and being SOL. I have not taken the MCAT yet, or even began studying for it, but I plan to start preparing soon. I am a great crammer for tests and think that I could be prepared in a matter of months, except for the fact that I'm still in chiro school and need to study for that on top. As well as the fact that my GPA isn't that high and no MCAT yet, I also have concerns because I don't have any EC's or volunteering. I am going to be sitting down and talking to a few doctors in the next couple weeks and talking to them about what they do and the like, as well as asking the same advice I'm asking you.