X-Ray/ Ultrasound Tech to MD

EMT, Radiology Tech, ECG Tech - career options and education discussion.

Moderator: CaribMD

X-Ray/ Ultrasound Tech to MD

Postby dayvmc » Mon Nov 02, 2009 3:18 am

Here is a little background. I am 28 and a wife and mother to two young boys. I graduated x-ray school in '01 (at 19) with a 3.98 GPA and graduated Ultrasound school in '06 with a 4.0. Overall my GPA is great however since I was educated at a trade school the credits don't transfer. Weber State accepted my Licenses and granted me 70 credits towards a B.S. in Advanced Radiologic Sciences at their school. I had taken some basic cc courses in the late 90's in order to graduate high school at 16 but I didn't take them very seriously and my GPA is a 3.54. I figure that by the time I finish my prereqs for med school and a couple courses towards my degree I can bring up my GPA to a 3.75. I have a couple questions that I need some advice on.

#1. I work full time and have a family so it seems that online science courses would be the easiest to fit into my schedule. The local cc offers online integrated classes so the labs are included. I know they aren't looked upon as highly but being as how they may be my only option do you think I will still have a chance by taking online integrated OCHEM and PHYSICS?

#2. I have performed ultrasounds and DEXA scans for over 10 clinical research studies. Since I play little part in the analyzing of data does this experience still count as research?

#3. I volunteer at a crisis pregnancy center (performing pregnancy dating ultrasounds) (once a week for an hour or two at a time) as well as at my son's school ( a few hrs a mo). I've played on adult soccer leagues, sat on a commitee at my church, am vice pres of my HOA . I have worked in the ER, OR, ICU,PICU,NICU, trauma, inpatient, outpatient, underserved areas (pretty much everywhere) and I speak spanish fluently. My question is what else should I add to strengthen my E.C.s?