DO Acceptance with Scores?

Issues specific to osteopathic medical education and practice as a DO.

Moderator: OlufunshoBY

DO Acceptance with Scores?

Postby dress » Mon Aug 17, 2009 7:41 pm

Hi Everyone,
So just got my MCAT score back today feeling pretty bad about it
I got:
PS- 8
VR - 6
BS - 10
Overall- 24P
I took the July 17 MCAT and though the verbal was really hard and it shows in my score. I graduated in June and my cum GPA is 3.4 and Science GPA is 3.1. So will I have a chance for DO schools? I applied to about 15 DO schools and now that I got my MCAT score back, I'm not so sure what to do if I should retake or not since the verbal is pretty low..Well any help would be appreciated!
Thanks
dress

Re: DO Acceptance with Scores?

Postby twmcgill3 » Tue Aug 18, 2009 12:51 am

24 is the absolute minimum (he said he could probably work with someone with a 26 at that point) according to AT Still in AZ when I toured earlier this year. So it's not impossible, although I would say improbable if you don't have a stellar application otherwise. I would put most of the more established schools out of reach, but honestly you never know. I know Midwestern in AZ has increased class size to 250 while the MD school here form University of Arizona has also increased enrollment (by about 125 I think) so competition is fairly thin and the aforementioned AT Still is just now getting their 4th year in 2010 if I remember. So lots of seats out here in the Southwest.

If you want to increase you chances I would apply early, I would try to commit to a school you can tolerate, and really polish the other aspects.